The Debate: Snapback vs. 5950

Oh the great debate in bro fashion is which one is really more fly?

New Era 5950’s (if you don’t know what they are, just X out of this page right now) were brought mainstream by hip hop artists like Jay-Z, who is almost always spotted with some sort of New York five-nine, Fat Joe, Ludacris and Snoop Dogg. Lids is one of the most popular stores in any mall it resides in, and also has by far the largest selection of caps on their website. They also have broadened their horizons greatly over the last decade – picking up affiliations with Red Bull, Monster, and Fox Racing. Travis Pastrana, arguably the biggest face in all of extreme sports, almost always wears one during his stint on MTV in the show “Nitro Circus.”

Pastrana with a Red Bull New Era... Dece.

But when it comes down to it, are any of these people mentioned really that bro? Not really, and don’t get me wrong, I’ve owned close to 20 fine-nine’s in my lifetime and I actually am going to have to go against my own swag here. Pastrana is bananas and Jay-Z is my dude but bros… you gotta step your lid game up.

Snapback’s have always been around, my dad threw em on me when I was just a little bro flippin’ around TechDecks. If you dig through my facebook page, there’s a picture of me kickin it on my stairs throwing out double deuces in an All Sport snapback. That’s right, All Sport. That beverage doesn’t even exist anymore. My pops knew what was up.

But anyways, to get back on the connection of pop culture and the cap game, the one person that really comes to mind is rapper Mac Miller. Self-proclaimed lax bro and he commonly name drops snapbacks in his music. He even has a song titled “Wear My Hat” off of his new mixtape, “Best Day Ever,” basically saying that if his broad loses his snapback he will absolutely go crazy on her, because that’s a legitimate reason to breakup. I’m just saying that if I had a girlfriend and she yanked a throwback Quebec Nordiques snapback from me and either ruined it, or lost it, I would probably have to put my name back on the market and go fishing for a new one, because there are plenty of fish in the sea that respect a fresh hat game. Mac represents for the bro’s.

Mac Miller with a super dirty Penguins snapback

It also just makes long hair look way better than a 5950. The architectural structure of a new era takes up more space atop the dome than your average snapback, which takes away from the beauty of nice and natural lettuce (another term for flow). Some of us spent years of time and hundreds on products in order to finally earn the title of having outrageous flow, we don’t need something taking away from it.

In this war, snapbacks take the cake. There are multiple sites to check out if your paycheck just came in and you want to put some funds down to improve your cap game. My two favorite sites are snapbackthethrowback and snapsteez.

Osama is dead, Bro Hard OU.

About brodupfromthetoesup

I'm a 20 year old sophomore at Ohio University double majoring in online journalism and english. I write for Thread Magazine, Ohio University's only online fashion magazine about "Bro" Fashion - the do's, the don'ts, and everything in between. So keep your flow long, your mid-calfs pulled up, and your throwback jersey on nice and snug.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

