Attitude Adjustment: Bromanship

Almost every aspect of exterioriety (like i said, I am allowed to make up words, get off me) that it takes to be recognized as a bro has been mentioned throughout this blog, and let me say first that I have been impressed with the uprise of throwbacks and midcalfs that have sparked around campus as compared to last year… obviously I’m taking full credit for that. But the one thing that a lot of people don’t understand is that being a true bro lies on the inside. It is all about the attitude that you carry about, not necessarily the ego that you carry around on your shoulder, although let me tell you at times it can get quite heavy, but more the ability to keep your head up as you walk up morton hill. < That’s confidence.

If you walked into a Starbucks and grabbed a random dude wearing a cardigan, some levi jeans and a pair of generic Timberlands laced all the way up (shouts to my roommate) and threw him in the dressing room with the basics of the bro attire… this would not automatically turn him into a bro. For example, if you have square wheels, you cannot simply go into Tire Factory and ask them for a hammer to hit the corners until they are round enough to turn over. Only about 25 people are going to understand that metaphor, and I can guarantee they understand what I mean. For the rest of you that havn’t hopped aboard the bro lingo train to this capacity, basically what I am saying is that you can not change a metaphor with a literal object. What you must do is look in the mirror and realize that the only one who can take the chip off their shoulder and feed it to a fat kid is you. We are just like everybody else, we wake up in the morning and put our pants on one leg at a time, except after that we brush our gorgeous locks, we head to the field and/or ice and make melodies out of snizzing bar down atleast a baker’s dozen times every couple of minutes.

It’s more than just being comfortable in your own skin, it is understanding that people are going to judge you no matter what and giving them a look that says, “what up bro, I know you’re trying to chirp me with your friends, but you’re going to the library, and I’m going to the bar, and since I played hockey in high school with the TA, I will still get a better grade than you.”

A lot of people think that bro’s are a bunch of no good, arrogant, self-centered, immature, long-hair having, throwback wearing, d-bags. I won’t even refute that, because the entire thesis of having this attitude is in no way caring about how you are perceived.

The best advice my dad ever gave me was this: “Always remember that when you’re in college, about 1 in every 3 people will genuinely dislike you; however, about 1 of every 3 people in college is an insecure tool.” < Smart man.

Bro Hard OU.

About brodupfromthetoesup

I'm a 20 year old sophomore at Ohio University double majoring in online journalism and english. I write for Thread Magazine, Ohio University's only online fashion magazine about "Bro" Fashion - the do's, the don'ts, and everything in between. So keep your flow long, your mid-calfs pulled up, and your throwback jersey on nice and snug.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

